We all have used phrases like, “I’m too busy” or “I don’t have time for that.” The more I think about these moments in my life, I recognize that it’s not that I don’t have time, because we all HAVE time; we all have the same 24 hours in a day. It’s a matter that (insert task here) isn’t important enough for me to prioritize it into my schedule.

So we each have 1 giant pie and we can only give away so many slices until it’s all gone. So who/what gets the first slice? Is it your spouse and/or children? Is it watching your favorite TV show? Or personal time with God? What about exercise? What do you make time for each day that you refuse to go without?

The truth is, we cannot do EVERYTHING. As much as we may like to be able to cross off everything on our to-do list and balance the activities we want to take on every day. This took awhile for me to nail into my brain, cause if you know me, I can be a perfectionist with my Type A personality. But I’m learning to say no, so that I can say YES to what’s important in my life.

This week I’m taking time to reflect my priorities. I’m going to start by first analyzing my daily schedule and seeing where my time is going. 8 hours to sleep (if you get that). Another 8-10 hours for work. So what am I doing during the remainder 6-8 hours of the day? Once I’m able to break that down, I’ll then adjust my time so that it would  reflect with what’s important to me. I tell you this so that you can hold me accountable! I want to be about it, not just talk about it.

I’m following a recommended guideline as preached by my pastor from this last week’s sermon, to help re-align my priorities in life and make the necessary adjustments to reflect what’s important to me.

  1. Take an honest look at your calendar. Does your daily schedule reflect your values and priorities?
  2. Create a new ‘time budget’ by scheduling God’s priorities for your life FIRST.
  3. Delegate or pay others to free up more time for yourself (i.e. yard work, washing the car, chores, etc.)
  4. Set up a healthy bed time to ensure that you’re getting enough rest. A great day starts with an energized mind!
  5. Eliminate distractions (decrease time spent on social media, TV, Netflix, etc.)
  6. Set weekly or monthly goals that you want to achieve. This will keep you accountable to prioritizing your time wisely.

Time management is KEY to successful stewardship. If we can learn to balance our time by spending it on what’s most important, we can grasp the realization that we don’t have time for everything, but we can MAKE time for the finer things in life.

